Business Swag

Last week (I keep forgetting to update, as you can tell my the massive gap in the year) I had a job interview, this is for my placement part of the Apprenticeship. Now this is a good thing, except I got told on Monday. The interview was the next day and to be honest I had never heard of this company before in my entire life. 

I thought I was being put down for Web Dev, pretty much the same as everyone else minus the weird programmer and IT Techos. I then got told that it was a Marketing placement, they put me forward because of my great English grades. 

I had a practice interview which in truth went SHOCKINGLY…I completely fudged it up and the welsh man was majorly intimidating. I think I scored the worst out of the entire group of 12 people. 

That evening I skipped Tai Chi and spent the night researching the company, I hardly slept. I made a portfolio of my work, this included: a crap website made in year 10, a travel brochure thing and my AS English coursework (It was my entertain piece, I needed all the help I could get)

I got there 20 minutes early and loitered on the street corner until it was ten minutes until my interview time. I was bricking it. This company is a travel company, it provides luxury travel tours for the UK and Ireland. One of the ‘packages’ is that you can drive around England in a flash car (Rolls Royce, I think?). Anyway, I got taken into this room with a long table, jug of water and glasses. I felt like I was in a TV show…

I ended up being interviewed by two women, one who looked like Susan Boyle (I kept on wondering if she could sing) and some foreign lady with a funny accent. I could hardly understand a word she was saying.

Thankfully I didn’t make too much of a fool of myself, I think it went quite well. I managed to get a few laughs. The stress of it all was made much worse because I was the first person in the group to get an interview and it was only the second week of the course. It was like twenty questions when I got back to college and continued with my day. 

Susan Boyle lady told me that she would let me know during the week whether I got the place or not, they kept my work which I wasn’t sure was a good thing or not. 

Later in the day welsh man took me aside to the LMPQ office and asked whether I thought it had gone well or not. I said vague stuff like ‘I guess it went okay….’ and ‘It was alright…’ He then told me that he had been in touch with the company. At this point I had stopped breathing. He proceeded to tell me: ‘I’ve got some bad news…’ *my heart sank through the floor* ‘…you don’t start until January.’

I was really confused and everyone else in the office began laughing and saying ‘look at her poor face!’ I was still confused. Eventually I clicked and when I left the office I did a little victory dance down the stairs. I then had to break the news to the class. It was so embarrassing having everyone’s attention on me. I wanted to go crawl under a rock.

Not, tooting my own horn or anything but I was up against six other people for the placement, and I was their first interviewee of the day. I obviously charmed them somehow. 

 

2 thoughts on “Business Swag

  1. If I was an interviewer I’d totally give you a job based on that entertainment piece alone (it was the one you showed me in Bio, wasn’t it? If not then this is awkward…)
    But yay, well done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

